My Dog Died

This week was both Lulus’ birthday and death day.  It was awful.  I read all these wonderful funny uplifting posts around here, but truthfully I’m drowning in sorrow right now, and I’m pretty sure no one reads what I post anyway, so I’m going to tell Lulus’ story.

Lulu was my puppy from 8 weeks old.  She arrived in from MN to NH at 8:00PM and I picked her up at the airport.  Found her on the Internet which is a pretty bad way to find a puppy, but I didn’t know that.  Yet.

Anyway that doesn’t really matter because the only really thing wrong with Lulu was that she was dumb.  Seriously dumb, as in dumber than a box of hammers.  I’ve lived with a lot of dog people in my days, and Lulu was the only one who couldn’t master basic stuff like sit, or heel.

 She had one mode on the

leash: barge ahead until she did her business, and then mosey along home sniffing every blade of grass along the way.  Sniff every stone, bug, and leaf.  She liked to sniff, I’ll give her love for exploring her world lots of points for a nature loving dog.

The day after her 9th birthday Lulu had some trouble breathing.  I called the vet, and she died in the car on the drive there.  I am devastated.  On the one hand I keep thinking at least she didn’t linger and suffer.  And in the other, I keep thinking, just yesterday she was fine.  How can she be gone?

What will I miss most about you dear Lulu?  Your soft coat?  Your way of climbing onto my lap whenever I sat down to relax?  Now little Ziggy, she never does that.  She curls up against my leg, but wouldn’t dream of using me for a chair like you did… And your amazingly goofy face!  Will I keep seeing that huge head of your, with your one black ear, and those wall-eyes, staring kind of at me like a lizard?  Wiggling your entire body every time I return from even a five minute absence?  

I keep seeing you and hearing you everywhere and I have decided some hard things.  That I’m too old to suffer like this anymore.  When Ziggy, who is 6 1/2, joins you in Pet Heaven to wait for me, I’m not going to adopt anymore dogs or puppies or animals at all.  I can’t stand this pain.  The few people I’ve told don’t believe me, but I’m at the end of my road here.  It’s a huge investment and I can’t afford it.  So I’ll just live with my memories, and little Ziggy, as long as she stays here, and that’s it.

Thank you Lulu.  For all your unconditional love.  For never having had a grumpy moment in your life, an unkind thought or deed.  For being the best example of a constant companion I could hope for.  Blessings on your journey.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

